September 15, 2009

Who are Alloway Library's Man Bookers?

Here's a complete list of titles that form Alloway Library's Man Booker display:
Some may be already checked out, but you can find the item in our catalogue and request it. Or check out material from the display.

1969 Shortlist Muriel Spark The Public Image
1970 Winner Bernice Rubens The Elected Member
1971 Winner V S Naipaul In a Free State
1971 Shortlist Elizabeth Taylor Mrs Palfrey at the Claremont
1971 Shortlist Mordecai Richler St Urbain’s Horseman
1972 Winner John Berger G.
1973 Winner J G Farrell The Siege of Krishnapur
1974 Shortlist Stanley Middleton Holiday
1974 Winner Nadine Gordimer The Conservationist
1975 Winner Ruth Prawer Jhabvala Heat and Dust
1976 Winner David Storey Saville
1977 Winner Paul Scott Staying On
1978 Winner Iris Murdoch The Sea, the Sea
1979 Shortlist V S Naipaul A Bend in the River
1979 Winner Penelope Fitzgerald Offshore
1980 Winner William Golding Rites of Passage
1981 Winner Salman Rushdie Midnight’s Children
1982 Winner Thomas Keneally Schindler’s Ark
1983 Winner J M Coetzee Life & Times of Michael K
1984 Shortlist J G Ballard Empire of the Sun
1984 Winner Anita Brookner Hotel du Lac
1985 Winner Keri Hulme The Bone People
1986 Shortlist Margaret Atwood The Handmaid’s Tale
1986 Shortlist Robertson Davies What’s Bred in the Bone
1987 Winner Penelope Lively Moon Tiger
1988 Winner Peter Carey Oscar and Lucinda
1988 Shortlist Salman Rushdie The Satanic Verses
1988 Shortlist Bruce Chatwin Utz
1989 Shortlist Margaret Atwood Cat’s Eye
1989 Winner Kazuo Ishiguro The Remains of the Day
1990 Winner A S Byatt Possession
1990 Shortlist Mordecai Richler Solomon Gursky Was Here
1991 Shortlist Rohinton Mistry Such a Long Journey
1991 Winner Ben Okri The Famished Road
1992 Shortlist Barry Unsworth Sacred Hunger
1992 Winner Michael Ondaatje The English Patient
1993 Winner Roddy Doyle Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha
1993 Shortlist Carol Shields The Stone Diaries
1994 Winner James Kelman How Late It Was, How Late
1995 Winner Pat Barker The Ghost Road
1996 Shortlist Rohinton Mistry A Fine Balance
1996 Shortlist Margaret Atwood Alias Grace
1996 Winner Graham Swift Last Orders
1997 Winner Arundhati Roy The God of Small Things
1998 Winner Ian McEwan Amsterdam
1999 Winner J M Coetzee Disgrace
2000 Winner Margaret Atwood The Blind Assassin
2001 Shortlist Ian McEwan Atonement
2001 Winner Peter Carey True History of the Kelly Gang
2002 Shortlist Rohinton Mistry Family Matters
2002 Winner Yann Martel Life of Pi
2002 Shortlist Carol Shields Unless
2003 Shortlist Margaret Atwood Oryx and Crake
2003 Winner DBC Pierre Vernon God Little
2004 Winner Alan Hollinghurst The Line of Beauty
2005 Winner John Banville The Sea
2006 Winner Kiran Desai The Inheritance of Loss
2007 Winner Anne Enright The Gathering
2008 Winner Aravind Adiga The White Tiger

No comments: